top of page
  • Amalia May

Ayurveda Inspired Homemade Granola

Ayurveda Inspired Homemade Granola

simple & healthy

By Amalia May


Hey. It’s me, the granola girl.


I guess now they call all the plant loving, bike riding, van living, crystal holding, mountain climbing, tea drankin', yogis “granola girls.” Whatever, I’m cool with that...only because I am a total sucker for all of those things. If you know me you know I love my nature and I also love my oats. Oats are like potatoes, they are delicious in any form ;)

I’m just here to share a little wallet saving life hack.


So, you go to the store and you see a huge bag of chocolate granola chunk goodness that is calling your name, but it’s 10 dollars. WHAT?! You are overpaying for granola, majorly. A bulk bag of rolled oats is wayyyy cheaper, and you can make your own crunchy holistic heaven in your kitchen.


This granola can be a topper for yogurt, oatmeal (yeah, oats on oats don’t judge me) smoothies, trail mix, nut milk, or just eat it right out of the jar.


When i’m not on the intermittent fasting train, I always eat oats for breakfast. But simple oatmeal can get boring after a while. So, I've been trying a BUNCH of different ways to cook with oats.


This recipe is an Ayurvedic granola that is good to have on hand in a huge mason jar in your kitchen at all times. The warming spices are very good for Vata season, going into winter.


When serving granola, I personally love to add some slow cooked fruits like peaches and apples & top with a little vanilla Greek yogurt.

(If you are trying an Ayurveda diet, don’t worry too much on making sure EVERYTHING you eat is Vata pacifying, it’s totally okay to eat small amounts in moderation.)


Nourish your mind body and soul with these herbs:

Turmeric

Cinnamon

Nutmeg

Cardamom


My favorite nuts to add for fall season:

Walnuts

Cashews

Pecans

Coconut Flakes (not shredded)

Pumpkin Seeds



 

Fall Homemade Granola

for Vata Season

By Amalia May

May Moves | Come Alive Herbals


I love to serve mine with cooked fruits, honey drizzle and more cinnamon on top!


Ingredient List:

  • 2 Cup Rolled Oats

  • 1 Cup Nuts

  • ¼ Cup Coconut Oil

  • ¼ Cup Raw Maple Syrup or Honey

  • ½ Tsp Cinnamon

  • ½ Tsp Turmeric Powder

  • ⅛ Tsp Cardamom

  • ⅛ Tsp Ginger Powder

  • ⅛ Tsp Nutmeg


Instructions:


Stove Top Method:

  1. In a bowl, mix oats and spices

  2. In another bowl, mix wet ingredients (coconut oil and maple syrup)

  3. In a pan over medium heat, roast nuts for 3 minutes

  4. Add oats and spices stirring frequently until oats become slightly golden brown (about 5 minutes)

  5. Turn off heat & mix in wet ingredients; combine thoroughly

*Granola will be slightly soft, let cool about 10 minutes to harden




Oven Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F

  2. In a bowl, mix oats and nuts

  3. In another bowl, mix coconut oil, maple syrup, & spices

  4. When oven is to the correct temperature, pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and fold until combined thoroughly.

  5. Spread mixture onto a baking sheet with parchment paper. *spread to thin layer

  6. Bake for 15 minutes, checking often to prevent burning

*Granola will be slightly soft, let cool for 10 minutes to harden


Serve with plant milk, coconut yogurt, or with your favorite smoothie.






If you end up making this yummy recipe, make sure you tag me on Facebook! :)

Namaste, Amalia May :)


Want to learn more about Ayurveda, Yoga Lifestyle & healthy recipes? Follow me on Pinterest.

0 comments

Bình luận


bottom of page