top of page
  • Amalia May

Ayurveda Inspired Simple Oat Bagels

Ayurveda Inspired Simple Oat Bagels

By Amalia May



My guilty pleasure- bagels. I LOVE bagels. But if I'm being honestly, I hate the way they make me feel-tired and groggy. Anyone with me? I’m about to change the bagel game for you. This is a recipe that you can add back into your breakfast regiment with zero guilt. It's so easy, cheap, and you probably have all the ingredients to make a batch right now.


This recipe calls for oats, egg, Greek yogurt, and baking powder. That is it. This is a simple way to keep your food Ayurvedic and promoting good health.

What I love about cooking with oats is how creative you can get with it. I’m so convinced you can do about anything with oat flakes and make it a meal.

If you’ve never made oat flour, it is as simple as blending a cup and a half of old fashioned oats with a blender until it turns to powder. Boom baby. Oat flour.


Like I said in an earlier post, you can always replace egg with a “flax seed egg”. To do so, mix one teaspoon of flax meal with 3 teaspoons of water. Let it sit until it has the same consistency of an egg ( about 10 minutes in the fridge).


Personally, I like plain greek yogurt. But of course, if you are going for a sweet bagel, you can play with flavored greek yogurt. If I want added flavor, I usually look first for spices and powdered herbs before I choose yogurt. If you try flavored greek yogurt. Just keep in mind it's important to use Greek. Please let me know how it turns out!


Feel free to mix any add ins you’d like.


Some of my favs are:

powdered herbs

cinnamon & raisin

blueberries

Everything Bagel seasoning

sesame seeds, poppy seeds




Make it a sandwich!

avocado & egg

almond butter & banana…

apple & goat cheese

You get the point. Get creative!

 

Simple Oat Bagels

oat flour | yogurt | egg


Prep time: 10 minutes

Bake time: 15 minutes

Cool time: 5 minutes

Total time: 30 minutes


Ingredient List:

  • 1 ½ cup oat flour

  • 2 tsp baking powder OR quick rising activated yeast

  • 3/4 tsp Himalayan salt

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt (not regular yogurt)

  • 1 egg

  • 1 egg white OR coconut oil (to brush on the bagel before baking)

  • Optional toppings: everything bagel seasoning, sesame seeds, poppy seeds etc...

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease pan with coconut oil.

  • In a medium bowl, combine oat flour, baking powder and Himalayan salt.

  • When it is totally combined, add Greek yogurt and egg. Mix with a fork or spatula until well combined.

  • Let dough sit for at least 5 minutes.


  • Lightly dust more flour on surface and turn over like you are working pizza dough. If it’s too sticky, add more flour.


  • Divide into balls. Roll each ball into long ropes and join the ends to form the shape of bagels.

  • Top with egg white wash or liquid coconut oil. Now’s the time you can sprinkle any seasoning you want to add. Bake on the top rack of the oven for 15-20 minutes or until tops are golden brown.

  • Allow to cool and harden. Enjoy!



Namaste, Amalia May

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page